Art

Hmong Spice

Hmong Chili Peppers_lrg

 

Get this Here

I took this picture on my parents farm in Arkansas a few years ago. My mother had harvested several chili plants and was drying a batch on the front porch. On that day, I had taken my camera out to take a few random pictures and these chili’s caught me eye. I’ve always loved their vibrant color and their taste even more. I grabbed a handful and placed them on my mom’s stool for a quick shot. These chili peppers are an important part of Hmong food and is used in just about every spicy Hmong dish. They are actually Thai chili peppers and if you haven’t tried them, you definitely should.

The green and black hand woven pattern in the background is the top of the stool. These stools are very common among several southeast asian cultures such as the Hmong, Laotion and Thai.

Please contact me if you are interested in copies of this photograph.

2 thoughts on “Hmong Spice

  1. Fantastic photo! Just stopped by to thank you for choosing to follow Wine and Cheese (Doodles). You’ve got some lovely images on your site! Hope to see you around WCD.

Leave a Reply

